About Own the Dream

If owning a racehorse has always been your dream but you didn’t know where to start, then you’re in luck! Racing and Wagering WA (RWWA) in conjunction with Magic Millions and the Thoroughbred Breeders WA (TBWA) is hosting the fifth edition of the award-winning ‘Own the Dream’ Event Series in 2022.

Starting on January 16 and culminating with the Grand Finale on February 11, three lucky teams will each win a share in a racehorse with the first placed team receiving their training fees paid for two years!

The competition consists of five FREE events that showcase the WA Racing Industry, including a race day experience, trackwork breakfast, yearling and stallion parades, and an insight from industry experts on pathways to becoming a racehorse owner.

EACH team member in attendance will receive ONE (1) entry PER event for their team. The more team members you have and the more events you all attend, the more chance of winning!

However you will have to share the spoils – the share of the racehorse will be split equally among all team members. If your team is unlucky not to win, you could still walk away with a $1,500 Magic Millions voucher to use towards a share in a Westspeed Platinum breeder nominated yearling at the sale.

The winning teams will be drawn at the Magic Millions Sale Complex on Friday, 11 February 2022, and be able to choose their horse up to the value of their prize from registered trainers and syndicators.

Testimonials 2021 Series


“Thank you to the Own the Dream team for an amazing and very interesting experience. It was wonderful to learn a little about the industry and to see how loved and cared for the horses are.”

“Overall you guys did a fantastic job in teaching us, building our interests in the industry and making the whole competition fun and exciting. Brittany and Brad were perfect choices as the Ambassadors. Their enthusiasm and friendliness were infectious. All the speakers were great. Interesting and engaging. So, from the organisers right through to the girls and guys that served us coffees, a job well done, and I just can’t wait to give it a crack next year with some family members. Heartfelt that’s for your outstanding work. Thank you.”

“Thank you very much to everyone from Brittany and Brad, to all the management, organisers, event and service staff and presenters, trainers and so on. Everyone bent over backwards to be friendly, efficient and helpful. I really appreciate all the effort you put in and wish your organisation ongoing success.”



Own the Dream 2022 Winners: Golden Sixty

Congratulations to Greg, Kelly, Gail and Wendy.

Horse:        Awesome Rock x Queen of Choice filly



Own the Dream 2021 Winners: Showusdmoney

Congratulations to Russell, Ellisa, Sue, Tracie, Kevin and Don.

Horse:        Cousin Nicci & Snippenova



Own the Dream 2020 Winners: Cywerbroke

Congratulations to Debbie, Tanya, Tammy, Vicki, Sharon, Kathy, Tahlia and Yvonne.

Horse:       Cywer



Own the Dream 2019 Winners: Double Bangers

Congratulations to Di, Robin, Warren, Sonia, Dane, Kayleen, Rob, Tracy, Greg and Vanessa

Horse:  Pinball Player




Own the Dream 2018 Winners: Team Helo

Congratulations to Heather, Lorraine, John and Paul.

Horse:    Brave Contender